In Honor Of Poet Adrienne Rich 1929–2012

“Death Interrupted” By: Heather Whitley Gibson.

The faithful catfish below,
Clear day,
I can’t hear those faithful eyes.
gathered; swollen skies…grasses
shells warm in the sun, wasted the faithful
catfish.
Plant a paper moon (I heard just now)
writing. Plant a paper moon.
A Poet dies. A turn. Path brok-en.
Beneath the tree. Donate dinner.
A no-wear man is weak.
Falling apples. Green and hard.
Hold on to branches, hold on.
Collect, gather rocks. Inside yourself.
Age. “They pace in sleek….certainty”.
Those tigers that swim. Underneath water.
Wire’s, wire’s. Slipped cage.
Lier, Lier, Change.
Words water.
Down the draining, drowing
Change loose; bites me.
Like a fossil. Rock.
Half- waxed. meaning two birds fell. hearing.
To see the unfindab.le tear

Click On Artlicle On Adrienne From PoetryFoundation.Com

4 comments on “In Honor Of Poet Adrienne Rich 1929–2012

  1. Prayer for this beautiful soul…

    • Thank you for your reply–I was right in the middle of writing & ended up altering a phrase; and the tone…she touched me in some way, I teared-up automatically. Poets and people with the kind of spirit she had, & the commitment to share, change their surroundings more than I realize– sometimes.. I can’t express ….

  2. granbee says:

    I felt much this way when I read my first Twitter announcement of the death of Adrienne Rich–and how very much the women’s movement has lost in her passing. May her memory spur on much more activism for all women all over the world.

  3. pewterbreath says:

    Adrienne Rich showed the world that strength, artistry, and beauty can be in the same place. A great writer, I miss her already.

Leave a Reply

