“Without A Doubt” – Poem By: Heather Whitley Gibson

 

he and she
lie still
still lie soft
heads sink here
ripe crumble on cotton silted
thin wink disappearing
before hearts bellies
eyes sting

cataracts under take
the morning page
a cradle stymied
awake,fingers leaf over
Tuesday’s time
(without a doubt)

soft
as water
waterfall
blood parts,water breaks
it’s a beaded corset
a rosary quite set
each bead,a blessing
dropped

my mother wore
my grandmother held
(without a doubt)

and if not for a clef lip
a face under seen
water broken and loose
worn pur-ring warm
blotted feather
unspoken and small
a snow owl
tethered grace
as a waterfall
held
(without a doubt)

2 comments on ““Without A Doubt” – Poem By: Heather Whitley Gibson

  1. granbee says:

    I was completely enchanted by the words “worn pur-ring warm”. I also enjoyed “my mother wore, my grandmother held” very much. This poem is brave enought to touch the little child part of an old woman.

    Like

    • As I get older, I realized more and more how much my grandmother’s influenced my life. Both Ronnie I were very close to ours. One of my favorite memories is of upstate N.Y., in the kitchen, with my great-grandmother’s and my father mother all cooking and canning, and kneading dough together.It is amazing what strength they had. Ronnie and I often talk about the lesson’s and wisdom, they have given us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

