“Winter Boy” – by: Dalaney At AllPoetry.Com

He wears a purple scarf,
and I call him, winter boy, in my head
when he rides by on his bike;
his face is so white, an unwritten page,
and I wonder what it would read
if he, if we

He wears a purple scarf,
and it trails in the wind, it wraps
around my daydreams, smudges the gray
of days with color, licks my
imagination, warms my heart into
submission

He wears a purple scarf,
and where he rides to, I want to go, too;
I want to chase his laughter, capture
his kiss in a Mason jar, I want him
to slow down, turn around, be the star
I wish upon

http://allpoetry.com/poem/9241565-Winter_Boy-by-Dalaney-noguest

One comment on ““Winter Boy” – by: Dalaney At AllPoetry.Com

  1. granbee says:

    Wonderful poetic capture of our gradeschool girls’ fantasies! Kisses in Mason jars are sort of like firefiles in Mason jars: they fade pretty quickly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

