I Was Never Able To Pray by Edward Hirsch : American Life in Poetry

I Was Never Able To Pray by Edward Hirsch : American Life in Poetry.

4 comments on “I Was Never Able To Pray by Edward Hirsch : American Life in Poetry

  1. granbee says:

    He was never able to pray, but he could look into the night sky “and see my voice sail into the night.” What in the world did he think prayer is, anyway? Wonderful tongue-in-cheek, extremely well-written. Thanks for referring us to this poem today, Heather.

    Like

    • Heather Whitley Gibson says:

      I’m did not think I was very into believing-I thought that was part of being alive….-when I was walking to class one day- 17 or so- I realized I was talking to God or the universe. And I did it all the time-so much that I did not even think it was prayer. I sort of shocked myself.

      Like

  2. A wonderful piece. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. Thomas Davis says:

    What a peaceful, inspiring poem! Thanks Heather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

