“Into The Fog” – Poem By: Mark Russell

Poetry From POETRYSOUP.COM

I awake today not knowing where to go
Destination unknown hope is all I know,
Fog so thick you can cut it with a knife
Today is the first day of the rest of my life.
I drive it’s like flying through a cloud
With broken wings flight is still allowed.
I can’t see where I’m going or where I’ve been
I don’t know where to start I simply begin.

Cars in front of me vanish like ghosts
Vanishing tail lights the direction they post.
I cannot see ten feet in front of my face
It’s like traveling through time and space.

After a while the sun shines through
Revealing a sky that is clear and blue.
It reminds me of journeys made through the night
From out of this blindness comes the dawn of light.

I finally arrive at my new destination
I seem to arrive within my calculation.
Into the fog and then out the other side
A journey towards vision is simply implied.

Click On MORE POETRY BY MARK RUSSELL

One comment on ““Into The Fog” – Poem By: Mark Russell

  1. granbee says:

    A journey towards vision–magnificent! Layers of self-discovery here in this fog! Bless you for sharing this terriffic–and important–poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

